12/29/11

Hon. William Owens

US House of Representatives

Washington, DC USA

Transmitted by Electronic Mail

Dear Congressman Owens,

On October 13, 2011, I chose to make a diligent effort to speak with St. Lawrence County Administrator Karen St. Hilaire on the subjects of corporations, chemical use, government and cancer. I did so in order to demonstrate my disapproval of government cooperation in corporate activities designed to mislead the general public on the matter of the role of chemical exposure in breast cancer causation. This effort to talk with County Administrator St. Hilaire led to an unlawful and abusive arrest and the making of false sworn statements by the arresting officer and the County Administrator. Two Orders of Protection were set in place, one by Judge William Galvin and a second by Judge Gregory Storie. The Galvin Order expired on November 29, 2011. The Storie Order remains in effect until April 2012.

St. Lawrence County Attorney Michael Crowe takes the position that the Storie Order serves to establish a prohibition against my being present in the St. Lawrence County Human Services Building for any purpose other than personal business. No such prohibition exists in this Order.

Please see below a letter dated 12/28/11 to Judge Storie requesting that he intervene in this matter. St. Lawrence County Attorney Michael Crowe and certain members of St. Lawrence County government including the County Administrator are trying to stop me from doing the public educational outreach work of Cancer Action NY. These people who do not care about the suffering caused by exposure to pollutant carcinogens are determined to bring an end to the open public discussion of chemical exposure and cancer causation.

As an American citizen, I have the right to freedom of expression. I have exercised that right on numerous occasions during the course of the past two years when I conducted information tabling events focusing on the subject of persistent organic pollutant exposure minimization in the Human Services Building. County Administrator St. Hilaire made the false sworn statement against me to chill my enthusiasm for speaking out against government cooperation with corporations in public deceptions involving chemical exposure and cancer causation. County Attorney Crowe is misusing the Storie Order to justify his refusal to facilitate arrangements for a future information tabling event at the Human Services Building. These are clear violations of my First Amendment rights.

Please provide the assistance of your office in finding a federal government entity that can take actions in defense of my rights. I am representing myself in the trail that will take place as a result of the unlawful arrest. I can not afford to hire an attorney to represent me in the matter of the false charges or to bring legal action on the First Amendment rights abuses. Thank you for your attention to this correspondence.

joyous in Nature,

Donald L. Hassig

_______________________________________________________________________

12/28/11

Hon. Gregory Storie

Village of Canton Justice Court

60 Main Street Canton, NY

Dear Judge Storie,

During the course of the past two years, I have conducted numerous information tabling events in the St. Lawrence County Human Services Building located on Route 310 in the Town of Canton. These events have been conducted in a fully lawful and reasonable manner. I utilize the information tabling events at the Human Services Building and other public venues including the Barrington Student Union at SUNY Potsdam College to conduct the public educational outreach work of Cancer Action NY.

I recently contacted St. Lawrence County Attorney Michael Crowe in an attempt to make arrangements for an information tabling event at the Human Services Building only to be told that the Order of Protection set in place by Judge Storie prohibited me from being present in the Human Services Building for any purposes other than personal business. I made known to the County Attorney that the Order of Protection that you created did not prohibit me from being present in the Human Services Building for the purpose of conducting any and all legitimate activities of an American citizen.

Utilizing my freedom of expression for the purpose of educating the general public on the subject of pollutant carcinogen exposure minimization is a very important part of my life. As the founder and director of Cancer Action NY, as a believer in the spiritual power residing in love of the Earth Mother and as an American citizen, I cherish my right to freedom of expression. Please write to County Attorney Crowe and make clear to him the fact that your Order of Protection must not be misused to abuse my rights.

Since the date of October 13, 2011, when an Order of Protection was set in place by Hon. William Galvin, I have met with an unwillingness of county government employees to communicate on matters involving my work as the director of Cancer Action NY. I have requested that County Attorney Crowe explain to the county employees that the Galvin Order of Protection expired on November 29, 2011 and that your Order of Protection contains no prohibitions against communication with any persons other than New York State Court Security Officer Cassidy Mock and St. Lawrence County Administrator Karen St. Hilaire. The County Attorney has chosen not to explain this to the employees. The refusal of employees to communicate regarding the work of Cancer Action NY is depriving me of my right to take part in county government.

Please write to County Attorney Crowe and direct him to stop using your Order of Protection in an unfair and unlawful manner. Thank you for your attention to these requests.

joyous in Nature,

Donald L. Hassig

Director

Cancer Action NY

Cancer Action News Network

P O Box 340

Colton, NY USA 13625

315.262.2456

http://www.canceractionny.org

